Sending Hope and Love

We live a privileged life.

I have always had a roof over my head, clothes to wear and food to eat. Although, like others, we struggle with finances at times, we are not suffering. Truth be told, we probably have too much stuff. The book stores and libraries are filled with books on how to declutter and store all of our ‘stuff’. Yes, despite our desire to always have more, we definitely have enough.

I have a family who loves me and cares for me and is there when I need them. I am so thankful to have them in my life. They add a richness to my life that nothing else can replace. I have good friends, many who feel like an extension of our family. I am so blessed.

Tonight, while looking for some papers, I came across our folders of children we had sponsored in the past. Three children – two boys and one girl.

DSCN9315

It was so heartwarming to see their pictures and read over the old letters. I always loved writing to them and waiting anxiously for a return letter to come.

We chose to sponsor through PLAN Canada (formerly Foster Parents Plan), but I know there are a lot of other wonderful organizations as well that offer child sponsorship.

There are so many ways that we can help others. Child sponsorship is only one way. And we don’t even have to go half way across the world to help others – help is even needed right in our own communities.

I recently had the pleasure of taking part in a project through Craft Hope. Together with a friend, we mailed 15 bibs to Craft Hope for their Project 20: Hope for China. It was such a pleasure to know that I could use my sewing skills to make something that would help someone (or a bunch of little someones!) in need.

I hope to find more time for charitable work this year.  I’d love to do something for Atin Afrika.  There are some amazing people there bringing hope to the children of Uganda.  I want to do something special for those kids.. now I just need to figure out exactly what I want to do and how to make that happen.

I would love to hear about the ways you give!  Let’s share our stories and maybe get some great ideas along the way.

This entry was posted in Charity, Children / Family Life, Misc..., Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sending Hope and Love

  1. Andrea says:

    I agree that it is so wonderful when we can use our talents to help others. I have also sent items overseas (scarves and blankets to Romania through Craft Hope), warm clothing and gifts to Japan after the earthquake/tsunami, and dresses for young girls in Africa (through “Little Dresses for Africa.”) Close to home I have a group of friends who regularly holds a “baby shower for mothers in need.” Everyone comes to the shower with baby gifts and we spend an hour or so wrapping them all up, tagging them, and writing notes to the families who will receive them, They are then distributed by our local Early Intervention program. We also visit our local pregnancy safe house and provide a fun evening for the young moms (usually something crafty) while some of our group minds the babies to give the moms an evening off. And much more traditional, my group of friends also volunteer to prepare and serve a meal at a local organization that provides meals for those in need one evening a week. There really are so many ways to help others!

    • That’s wonderful that you have been able to help in so many ways, Andrea! I love the baby shower idea! So fun! I bet those moms really appreciate it. Thank you for all you do. ❤

Leave a Reply

