So Many Lovely Ideas for the Home!

Are you all on Pinterest?  I swear it is crafty heaven!  You can find almost anything on there!

As you know, I have been dreaming of a more handmade home and have been spending a fair amount of time on Pinterest getting ideas.

One of thing I want to work on a bit is making my laundry closet pretty.  Why?  Well… my laundry closet is plain, boring and has no colour.  Being a family of five, I spend a lot of time there.  Having a pretty laundry closet will not likely make doing all that laundry any more fun, but at least it will be more pleasing to look at.

DSCN8982

As you can see, our laundry closet has a bar under the shelf, but there is really not enough room to hang clothes on it.  I was thinking I might make some hanging baskets to hold the unmatched socks.  (And in case you were wondering – yes, those are a set from the 80s.  And yes, so is the flooring.  Original 80s.  There are some places in our home that wait until last to be updated.  This would be one of those areas.  The machines are actually on their last legs, so you may see newer machine when I post an update later on.)  

(Photo via The Mother Huddle)

(Photo via The Mother Huddle)

Something like these baskets from The Mother Huddle would be perfect!

(Photo via Pink Penguin)

(Photo via Pink Penguin)

I’d also like to make some fabric baskets of various sizes for around the house.  Maybe a fairly large one for in the living room to hold my current yarn project(s).  I really like this basket pictured above, by Pink Penguin,  but might make a solid one instead of patchwork. 

(Photo via Pinterest)

(Photo via Pinterest)

I also came across this beautiful crochet rug this past week and am absolutely in love with it!  It’s crocheted with your hands, no crochet hooks.  The pattern can be found in the book Crafting a Meaningful Home.

Have you had any crafts for the home that have been catching your eye recently?  I would love to hear about them!

Want to follow me on Pinterest?  You can find me here.

This entry was posted in Crochet / Knitting, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Many Lovely Ideas for the Home!

  1. Andrea says:

    I love that rug, too! I have pinned several crochet rugs to my pinboards and have been noticing how much “for the home” items you have been pinning! 🙂 I am currently working on a crochet blanket. We actually have several crochet blankets in our home, but they were all made by my Mom. I thought it would be nice to have one that I made!

Leave a Reply

