Classic Pillowcase Dress – A Pattern Test

I had the pleasure of being a pattern tester this weekend.

Jenny, from Seamingly Smitten, designs simple sewing patterns that are suitable not only for experienced sewers (sewists? seamstresses?), but also for those new to sewing.

Her Classic Pillowcase Dress pattern was quick to make and included detailed instructions, including a photo tutorial.  If you are new to sewing and looking for a great beginners project, you will love this one!

I tested the 6-9 month size pattern.   It was a lot of fun to make!  I was able to cut, sew and photograph this dress in about 45 minutes. 

I chose a border print fabric for my dress and I love the way it turned out!

Isn’t is adorable?!

The great thing about pillowcase dresses is that they fit for such a long time!  This one would fit as a dress the first year, a tunic the second, and a tank top the third year. 

This dress will be making an appearance in my shop in the near future.

Want to make your own?  You can find the pattern for The Classic Pillowcase Dress in Jenny’s shop – Seamingly Smitten.

 

Tip Junkie handmade projects

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Classic Pillowcase Dress – A Pattern Test

  1. Andi says:

    Cute! It’s always so much fun to do a pattern test! 🙂

  2. Very cute! I absolutely love pillowcase dresses. My daughter has several, and I’ve made one for myself. Love them!

  3. Pingback: » Five Quick Sewing Projects for Beginners

  4. quyen says:

    Very nice,
    Do you sell smocked baby clothing?
    If you love smocked baby clothing, this is some new designs for your reference: http://babeeni.com/Smocked-dresses-for-Fall-Winter-2012.html

Leave a Reply

