Learning to Make a Quilt (and why ALL lines must be straight)

I want to learn to quilt.  I have tons of scraps.  My youngest daughter has pretty much outgrown her baby blanket.   You can see where this is going.

I carefully picked out complimentary fabrics.  I carefully(ish) cut out a bunch of 5″ squares (the quilting ruler keeps sliding! Arg!) and I carefully(ish) sewed them all together.   I sew clothes all the time.  Sewing squares?  Easy!

Well, it turned out here…

But here?  Well, I think something went wrong.  Why are the squares not lining up properly?!

I guess carefully(ish) does not cut it in quilting.

Even with its crooked lines, it  looks pretty.  I still have a lot of work to do on this quilt.  It may be a while before it’s done.  Too many projects on the go at once – as usual.  Stay tuned though – I’ll be sure to post pictures when it’s finished.

Have you made a quilt before?  How did it go? Care to share some great tips with me?

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to Make a Quilt (and why ALL lines must be straight)

  1. Andi says:

    My first quilt was the same! 🙂 To keep your cutting straight, you can buy non-slip stickers to put on the bottom of your ruler – they work great! And to get your squares to line up, you want to line them up and pin on both sides of the matching seam before you start sewing. (and then don’t take the pins out until you are just about to put the needle down.)

    I love the fabrics you chose – this is going to be one pretty quilt!

Leave a Reply

