A Simple Cushion (and My First Tutorial!)

I made a trip to the fabric store this week, with my children.  The kids looked around the store and I shopped.

My 10-year-old came up to me all excited – she had found this really great owl fabric that she just had to have!  So I went and had a look.  It was soft, it was fuzzy, it was bright.  I said “What are you going to do with it?”  “Make cushions!” she exclaimed.  Okay.  My kid’s pretty smart.  What a great idea!  So we bought her a strip of this fabric.  Just enough to make a couple cushions.

Do you want to make one too?  Welcome to my first ever tutorial!

First find a great fuzzy fabric, with a big pattern on it.  In this case, it was owls.  Get a strip cut big enough to give you a few of the large image.

This strip gave my daughter enough for 2 1/2 cushions.  I’ll give her some minkee I have lying around to give her a third cushion.

Cut out an owl – or whatever your image is.  I’ll just use owl for ease of explanation.  My daughter chose to cut hers as a square, but you could just as easily make a shaped cushion. 

Take the piece you just cut and put it on top of another of the owls.  Make sure they are facing the same way.  Now cut the next piece to match. (Please, do not give your child a rotary cutter!  Scissors will work just fine.)

Now, because I wanted to get back to my own sewing projects I’m a really nice Mommy, I sewed the pieces together on my machine. Make sure you have right sides together and stitch around 3 sides. I’m not a big fan of sewing this type of fabric – it stretches and can make sewing difficult.  To make this a bit easier, I used a zig zag stitch. 

Now turn your cushion right side out and stuff it. 

Once it’s nice and fluffy, you’re ready to stitch it closed.  Fold the ends in and sew it closed.

That’s it!  You’re done!

Now toss is on your bed and enjoy!

This cushion can be sewn entirely by hand.  This fabric is great for hiding stitches, making it the perfect fabric for kids who are learning to sew.

This entry was posted in Sewing, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Simple Cushion (and My First Tutorial!)

  1. Deana says:

    I love them. What a great tutorial. I may just let my oldest give this a try!

  2. Cute! If you have a walking foot, that can help with the stretching. Cushions are a great project for kids to learn how to use the sewing machine too!

  3. owlover says:

    I love it! Where did you buy that awesome fabric??

Leave a Reply

